Austin Group Psychotherapy Society

AGPS Board Statement on Anti-LGBTQ+ Legislation

Thursday, July 20, 2023 9:31 AM | Melissa Savoie AGPS Coordinator (Administrator)

Austin Group Psychotherapy Society (AGPS) believes everyone deserves access to comprehensive, evidence-based, competent care informed by accredited and licensed professionals. As mental health professionals, we are deeply concerned about recent legislation in Texas and other states unaligned with evidenced-based, inclusive practices.

The Texas state legislature has introduced a record number of anti-LGBT+ bills, with several seeking to criminalize essential health care for transgender youth, their families, and the medical and mental health providers who support them. Recently, a group of families, health care providers, and human rights organizations have sued Texas and some state agencies over Senate Bill 14, signed into law last month to ban gender-affirming care.

These bills endanger the health and well-being of transgender youth, their families, and communities. They serve only to propagate harm and stigmatization and interfere in a relationship that most appropriately lies with an adolescent, their parents, and their doctors. With the continued threat to trans healthcare and safety, many families and adults with financial means have made the difficult decision to uproot their lives to find new homes, jobs, and schools outside of Texas. Knowingly producing or advancing legislation oppressing fundamental human rights to comprehensive, evidence-based, competent care hurts our communities. 

AGPS Board Statement

Austin Group Psychotherapy Society (AGPS) condemns policies of discrimination based on an individuals sex, sexual orientation, or gender identity. Clinical interventions for gender dysphoria should not be criminalized or restricted. AGPS advocates for policies and laws that promote acceptance of all without fear of harassment, exclusion, or bullying because of gender expression.


AGPS Board

Alyson M. Stone, PhD, CGP

Courtney Stollon, LCSW-S, LCDC, CGP 

Steve Cheney, LPC

Monrovia Van Hoose, LCSW, CGP 

Allen Lambert, LCSW-S, CGP,

Donna Rich, LCSW

Melissa Hargrave, LMFT-S, LPC-S

Aaron D. Bandy, NBCT, LCSW

Janet Griffis, MA, LPC, LMFT

Amanda Fuhr, LCSW

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software